skinny me week 1: lessons learned

Posted on August 20, 2009

3


But easy street is a dead end street. Those who live there make their bellies their gods; belches are their praise; all they can think of is their appetites. – Philippians 3:19

I rode my bike yesterday. One of my goals last week was to work out at least five times this week. I did. Last night was the hardest. Intentions always seem well & good – but as soon as I got on my bike & noticed the way my body resisted the motions, I knew it was going to be hard. I knew pushing myself would be the theme of this certain work out, & so, in cadence with the gravel scraping against the tires, I whispered the beginning of this verse continually.

It made for great encouragement.

It’s one of the things that keeps coming up this week – perseverance. Steadfastness. Understanding this is not a race but a marathon. I wouldn’t want it any other way. And as I sit here, absolutely exhausted from sleeping habits being cut in half & the school year starting, I can’t help but think this past week has been incredibly beneficial.

I’m gonna be honest. I didn’t lose any weight.

But. That’s okay.

I worked out. I pushed my body to be more active than it has been in years. I forced myself to consider the timing of meals & exactly what I was putting in my body. Most importantly, I learned.

I need more sleep. I was talking with my sister today & she told me what I already knew – sleep=rest=your body being able to work at the peak of its ability all day long. Lack of sleep=exhaustion=laziness & lack of desire to have any sort of activity. (Like…now) My goal for this week: 7 hours of sleep. Every night.

I need more water. About two months ago, I gave up Coke. That’s right – for those of you who know me – this is a pretty big deal. The reasons behind it are numerous & will be saved for another blog, but what I have realized is that I have replaced coke with almost everything BUT water. I have been intentional today to drink more than I have lately, & I can tell my body is happy. I’m craving it more instead of juices or tea. My goal this week: aim for 3 liters of water a day.

I need less coffee. It would be really easy to blame my husband here. He tried for years to get me to drink this stuff, & I refused. I had coke. Now, without the caffeine – I am a sucker for any sort of mixed espresso drink that will help make my drive in the morning a bit more…refreshing. If I get more sleep, my hope is the need for coffee will ease a bit. I hope.

I need more Jesus. Another one of my goals last week was to spend more time in the word. I did that – but I found there were still some days I was “just too busy.” I’m not okay with this. For anything to work – regardless of the goal – full dependance on Christ is a necessity. The moment this becomes about ME and not HIM, it’s a failure.

How are you doing on your goals? What have you learned this week? Is there anything you are tempted to take the easy road for?

Goals for this week: Continue to soak in His word – setting time every day for Him to speak to me
Get at least 7 hours of sleep each night
No coffee
Drink 3 liters of water a day
Lose 1% of my body weight

Tagged:
Posted in: Skinny Me