my magnificent obsession

Posted on August 27, 2009

2


You know the old saying, “First you eat to live, and then you live to eat”? Well, it may be true that the body is only a temporary thing, but that’s no excuse for stuffing your body with food, or indulging it with sex. Since the Master honors you with a body, honor him with your body! 1 Corinthians 6:13

I did it.

I lost 4.5 pounds last week.

That’s almost 2% of my body weight.

I have a feeling there are a few factors to this celebratory news. First, I kept up with my goals swimmingly. (Quite literal with that phrase there.) I didn’t eat after 9 PM. I only had coffee ONE DAY last week – and that was on Sunday when we had to be at church at the break of dawn & I was exhausted & I knew it was going to be a long day…

I also got at least 7 hours of sleep a night. Oh and I drank three liters of water a day. Yeah. That’s right. Three.

Word to the wise: drinking 3 liters of water a day will indeed induce the feeling of drowning. However. A warning: it may reduce cravings of other drinks. You know, like coffee. Or soda. Or even juice.

It’s kind of crazy how your body knows what it needs, ya know?

I use to be one of those people who said things along the lines of, “well, I’m going to die anyway – I might as well die happy!” as I stuffed another piece of pizza in my mouth or I grabbed another donut. But here’s the clincher: I wasn’t happy. We are not meant to gorge ourselves on food. We are not meant to overload on anything. And I knew in the middle of my overeating or oversensualizing food I was going against the inner workings of my heart – those still whispers that let you know you’ve reached your limit.

Because you see, excess is never a good thing.

Throughout this whole process, (even though it’s only been like, two weeks) Christ has continually whispered one thing in my ear: I am your portion.

How beautiful is that?

It reminds me of that old song – begging Him to be my one magnificent obsession. I’m not there yet. I still eye the kolaches brought in to our staff meeting. The idea of a cheesy pizza entices me whenever my hunger breaks through & starts shouting. But I’ve learned something these past few weeks as well.

I do not need to give breath to every thought which enters my mind.

In fact, it’s probably a safe assumption that about half of my thoughts…if not more…need to be held captive by His redeeming grace.  Is food an idol? Yeah. But so is self-image. And worry. And sometimes doubt. Oh and don’t forget fear. Bottom line: any thought that doesn’t exist to bring Him glory should have no place in my life. None. Zilch. It’s gone.

Goals for this week include:

  • Drink 3 liters of water a day
  • Stay away from coffee
  • Get 7 hours of sleep a night
  • Don’t eat after 9
  • Read my Bible EVERY DAY
  • Work on my writing for at least 30 minutes a day – submit a piece for publication
  • Lose 1% of my current weight

Your turn. Goals for this week. Annnnnd GO!

Tagged:
Posted in: Skinny Me