just call me hippy

Posted on August 28, 2009

0


local-organic-juice-only

Russ & I were never those crazy people. You know, the ones who freak when you mention giving their kids some type of cookie & they go on this bitter diatribe of how their kids only eat gluten-free, organic food. And no sugar. Ever. Only fruits.

Eh.

And we still aren’t…to a degree.

A couple of months ago Russ & went & saw Food, Inc. We knew what we were getting into. Kind of. We stopped by Jack-in-the-Box on the way to the theatre & scarfed down our Jumbo Jacks with cheese meals – topped off with one taco each.

And a large coke.

That was the last coke I had. Even typing that meal out almost gave me a heart attack – I can’t believe we actually use to eat like that. Please, self – don’t ever go back. Please.

The movie was disturbing.

Perhaps what was most disturbing for me was just the fact that our food is so chemically processed, it’s not even food anymore. We’ve all grown up with the fear of pesticides in our produce – but this is real, people. They had scenes of chickens so top heavy (because people prefer breast meat above any other part of the bird) they couldn’t even walk! Seriously. Chickens were falling over because they were so fat. It was disgusting to see the truth: in order to get the most money, companies have pumped our meat with chemicals & antibiotics – causing genetically modified foods. Chickens with huge breasts aren’t normal. Their legs aren’t meant to carry around so much weight.

Their official site says:

Approximately 10 billion animals (chickens, cattle, hogs, ducks, turkeys, lambs and sheep) are raised and killed in the US annually. Nearly all of them are raised on factory farms under inhumane conditions. These industrial farms are also dangerous for their workers, pollute surrounding communities, are unsafe to our food system and contribute significantly to global warming.

Not cool. I’m not okay with companies bullying the farmers into only harvesting their seed – which has been genetically modified. I’m not okay with my chicken being dumped & raised in an unlit barn with no room to walk – and when they are able to get a few steps in – they fall under their own weight. I’m not okay knowing that most of my food has been pumped with antibiotics – therefore lowering my own ability to fight off infection. I’m not okay with the realization that whenever Russ & I have kids, my own milk will essentially be poison because of the toxins in our “food.”

I’m not okay with the secrecy surrounding some of these companies.

So Russ & I went organic.

For the past few months, we have shopped local/all-natural/organic – & I promise – it makes a difference.

We had a little experiment – we bought the Whole Foods 365 cola & compared it with Coke. If you know me, you know how passionate I am about my coke. The fact that I haven’t had one in three months is absolutely mind-boggling to some who know how connected & attached I was to the stupid drink. But this experiment helped – tremendously.

We tried both sodas – back to back.

Hands down the 365 tasted cleaner, fresher, and definitely sweeter.

Coke almost made me want to brush my teeth. I could totally taste the acid compared to 365. Not joking. And I was hoping this wasn’t the case! I was so hoping 365 would be disgusting & Russ would kind of “forget” about our experiment to go organic because dangit, I really didn’t want to give up my coke.

But I did.

And I don’t miss it.

We’ve also noticed that with organic food – it fills you up quicker. Less portions. Healthier. This makes sense, especially because there are food scientists out there whose primary job is to manipulate the pH balance of food so we eat more. Crave more. Weigh more.

Not me.

This is a long time coming for Russ & me. We started a while ago noticing small things that unsettled us about what we ate. We weren’t okay with how it was prepared. Moving to Austin has definitely helped with our decision to go local – and we are finding our diet is less & less reliant on red meat. It’s almost….vegetarian.

Don’t worry. That’s one thing I know for sure Russ & I won’t ever consider. 😉

Posted in: Uncategorized