choosing to love

Posted on November 20, 2009

0


My sister got married this weekend.

She made for a beautiful and pure and hopeful bride – and in every picture you see the joy of waiting for her Prince Charming.

 

 Her and her husband have quite the story. I may need to have her guest post a few entries when she gets back from her honeymoon – but basically – about this time last year, he broke up with her in a letter…saying he couldn’t be with her because he didn’t love her.

He shared their story at the reception, and with tears in his eyes he told us that when he broke up with her, he couldn’t understand why God wouldn’t let him fall in love with such an amazing girl as Christina. (And she is pretty amazing. She’s one of my best friends and I miss her like crazy because I haven’t been able to talk to her in almost a week. Dumb, stupid honeymoon. Totally kidding.)

In no simple terms, God gently spoke to Kyle: “if you think she’s so amazing – why don’t you fall in love with her?”

And so he did.

He realized then – as I feel most of us do at some point – that love is a choice. And he chose to love my sister in every possible. 

I’ve seen this before in my own parents. Growing up, they set the standard of what we were to look for in our own relationships. Trust. Loyalty. Laughter. Friendship. And most importantly? Love – choosing to love the other person daily.

 

I know I’m lucky. I know some people didn’t have this lesson in love growing up and a lot of people don’t understand our family dynamics: we’re close. My siblings are my best friends and my parents mean the world to me. We hurt each other often and get on each other’s nerves – but we love.

And I have my dad to thank for showing me how I lovely I am and how worthy I am of love. Watching him and Christina on Saturday brought back a flood of memories of my own day – latching on to his arm and leaning on him for strength as we walked down the aisle – moving from his protection to Russell’s – knowing even though I was leaving and cleaving, my dad would always be there.

As Christina & Kyle move in to marriage, I pray they remember the newness and excitement of these first few weeks. I pray they never forget what it felt like to wake up to the love of their life for the first time and in moments where taking the easy road seems logical and the door seems far too close, they choose to love.

Congratulations, Mr. & Mrs. Kroeger.

Kyle – welcome to the family.

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Marriage