why hello, 2010

Posted on January 3, 2010

2


One thing I learned about myself last year: I can’t just say I will do something. I have to set goals. I have to take baby steps. I have to get others involved to hold me accountable so when I want to just give up, they can say “stop being a wuss – you’re finishing this.” Because, I have great ideas. I love to brainstorm. I love to think and wonder and plan.

It’s the execution of said plan that needs work.

So. Here are my goals for 2010 – in no particular order.

1. I want to be healthier. There’s a bag of candy stashed somewhere in our apartment right now – and as I’m typing this I’m mentally rehearsing the mantra “you don’t need it – you don’t need it.” Russ and I have taken incredible steps since this past summer to be healthier and to be mindful of what we eat. But, because of recent events and an incredible tightening of our budget, shopping organically just isn’t going to happen for awhile. So…my goal is to avoid high fructose corn syrup like the plague and drink as much water as possible. I’ll be breaking this down in smaller steps as the year progresses – the weekly goals I set for myself earlier last year were perfect and worked wonders for me. But for now – this will do. I want to be healthier.

2. Operation Skinny-Me will be back. It actually never left. Ever since August I have been on a mission to lose weight. And I have! 25 pounds to be precise. But that’s not enough. I can’t stop – and I can’t give up. My immediate goal is 10% of my weight lost in 10 weeks. I’ve done it before – it’s where I lost a majority of those 25 pounds. But, with sickness and family weddings and holidays…I’ve done good just to maintain my weight over these last few months. And there’s a reason why I put “being healthy” first and “losing weight” second. Mainly: more than being skinny, I want to be healthy – in mind, body, spirit and emotions.  I said from the very beginning that more than losing weight, this was a mission to rebuild my perception of beauty – and to fully grasp Christ’s love for me and his purpose for my life. Losing weight is just the icing on the cake.Starting immediately, it’s on like donkey kong. (or something – because that was kind of lame.)

3. I will not buy ANY MORE books until I have finished the ones I have waiting for me on my nightstand. Do you know how significant this is? Do you? Buying books is a bit like therapy. I don’t really like shopping for clothes because…well…see posts above. But. Books? Never disappoint. And the creativity! I just love curling up with a good book and finishing the last page – aching to grab my own sheet of paper so I can write words of my own. Right now, I have about 25 books waiting. They have been waiting pretty diligently since August – when Russ and I raided Half Price and came home with a load full. And then I bought some on Amazon. And then I had a bad day and stopped at Borders. And then…well, you get the picture. I’ll be posting the full list of these books waiting to be read on my book page. Then you can follow along with me. And slap my hand if ever I speak of wanting another book…

4. I want to finish my novel. Completely. And send it off to an agent. Or a publisher. Or both. Earlier this year, I took a huge step in my writing career and did NaNoWriMo – a month of insanity for those of us who choose to partake in the festivities. In short, I wrote 52,000 words in a month – long enough to be considered a novel. However, I did not finish. Just this past weekend I crossed the 60,000 word mark, but it really isn’t about word count to me – as long as I am working on it. My goal? Finish it. Let it sit and simmer for a few weeks. Read through it. Edit it. Tear it apart and make it beautiful again. Then…I hope to take another huge step. Looking for an agent is quite the risk of self-pity, but if I ever want to achieve my dream of being published, I have to do it. And I will. This year.

5. Pay off credit card bills. Ugh. Just writing out that sentence makes my lip curl in protest. But – it needs to be done. This past year we definitely took a hit in terms of the amount we now owe. But, hopefully, in 2010 that amount will decrease to absolutely nothing. And then the cards will be placed in a drawer somewhere – safe from my fingers and their convenient reach. We recently paid off our car, and the feeling associated with knowing you owe nothing on something that use to be SO expensive is incredibly rewarding. We want it back. So…mark it. 2010. Budgeterians everywhere will be proud.

So there you have it. Five goals. Five very achievable goals. What are you hoping to achieve this year?

Posted in: Goals