snowday2010

Posted on February 23, 2010

3


it snowed here today.

you may read that sentence and not really think much of it, but um…

i live in austin, texas.

yeah. so, when i left school this morning around 10 because there was already about two inches of snow on the ground and the temperature was dropping and i didn’t really want to drive on sloshy highway…i called Russ.

“Hey babe. I’m on my way. How’s the weather in Austin?”

“Eh. Not bad. It’s just misting.”

just misting.

shortly after we got off the phone, the white stuff came falling from the sky in downtown austin and suddenly my twitter feed was full of people exclaiming their excitement. and i admit, as i pulled into my apartment about an hour later and these huge flakes fell on my nose, i felt like a little girl and smiled with anticipation.

i went on a lunch date with my husband. (we never get to go on lunch dates.)
we perused local shops and spent time talking with a brazilian friend who owns a shop in central austin.
i took a three hour nap. on a week day. can’t even remember the last time i was able to do this.
and now i’m up – despite the hour creeping past 10 – spending more time with my love because school has been delayed tomorrow morning.

i think i may go cuddle some more.

what do you do on snow days?

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Marriage, Teaching