foster care: relationships

Posted on March 28, 2010

2


“To give birth is incredible. To foster a child is divine.”

A foster mom told me this after a brief freak-out. This whole process – paperwork, studying, collecting data and preparing to be responsible for living and breathing but broken human beings – definitely overwhelms at times. And Thursday night, in the midst of documentation and stories of bio-families turning on foster parents and what you deal with on a day-to-day basis, my heart questioned just how much I was willing to put it through.

But see, here’s the thing: it’s not about me. Russ & I may deal with some feisty individuals – we may get some kids who have been through things we couldn’t even imagine. But that’s okay. If I truly believe rescue is possible – if I believe the story of redemption supersedes any of my preconceived notions – than my focus will not be on what I can or cannot gain from this experience.

My heart may be broken in this process. In fact, I pray it does. I pray my heart stays tender to the leadings of the Spirit. I pray I always stare into the eyes of those He has entrusted to me and see them as Christ sees them. I pray I forget about my comfort – if for just a second – to remember the comfort of others is more important.

I have no idea who God will place in our home. There are still months left before we can even consider finishing the process. But this past week I was able to take a deep breath and place a lot of questions at the throne. He knows who needs to be with us – whether for a season or forever. He knows when it will happen and how. He already knows the story – and He already loves them. And this is absolutely beautiful to me.

So, over these next few months there are a few things you can be praying:

  • Over the past few months, Russ has been approached with some solid leads concerning jobs. Our prayer is that he hears – and soon – about a job that fits his heart for people and food. We don’t want just any job. We want him to be where God leads – anything less will be second best and will most likely cause him to be miserable.
  • Our lease ends in May. Currently we live in a one bedroom apartment. We are looking in a specific area on Austin and have a few houses on our radar. Wisdom about exactly where is crucial – our search is highly intentional.
  • That God would begin to prepare our hearts. Currently, we are undecided about age group/specific level/”adoptability” – my prayer is that Russ and I would be in complete agreement.

These next few months will certainly be crazy, but absolutely breathtaking. I can’t wait to see how God will move. For now, we will take the next step…ever so timidly…and trust in His provision.

Posted in: Adoption, Foster-care