my hope is real – devyne’s guest post

Posted on May 10, 2010

1


For the past few months, I’ve been working with some kids in the art of storytelling. This past week, Devyne and Nijalon wrote a post inspired by hope. Today’s post is what Devyne wrote. I love this poem. As soon as I read it, I couldn’t wait to share it with you guys.

Check back tomorrow for Nijalon’s observation on connections to Christ.

________________________________________________________________

My hope is real

it sings.

I know it’s real

it sits        stationary        in my soul

projecting it’s light into every crevice of me

banishing
the darkness

pushing back
the fear

destroying
the doubt

it sings a song of love

a lullaby to my restless heart

soothing my troubles

– and –

calming my rapid heart beat

– and –

turning my attention upward

– and –

uncovering the white dove in every red-painted situation

– and –

fueling my faith

my hope is real

it manifests in everything i do.

revealing itself to doubters,

it’s not pushy or obnoxious –

cocky or rude.

it’s a fountain of faith

gentle and modest –

appealing to the spiritually p a r c h e d

open to everyone

my hope is real.

it hovers lovingly in my life

singing it’s joyous song.

Posted in: Faith, Writing