my love.

Posted on May 12, 2010

3


Sometimes, I take his love for granted. It’s not intentional. I just have this uncanny ability to make our week go from slow and steady to rushed and hurried,  leaving me breathless by Thursday and exhausted by Friday.

Instead of greeting him with a kiss, I throw my stuff down on the nearest chair, peck him on the cheek and run to the restroom. Instead of looking him in the eyes and truly listening, I multi-task, my eyes glued to the bills or (heaven forbid) my phone.

Love takes work, I get that. But this is my love. He deserves more than just a hurried “love you” or a casual glance. He deserves to know the way my stomach flips when he walks in the room or how every time I see him worship I fall in love a little bit more. He deserves these things – but far too often I fail. Far too often my busyness gets in the way of our tenderness.

Today, I will look him in the eye. Today, I will listen and take the time to greet him when he gets home. I will hold his hand and not let go. I will move from busyness to focused stillness.

My love is worth it.

Posted in: Marriage