day 8: getting reacquainted

Posted on May 26, 2010

2


Last week, I mentioned the pull to finish my manuscript. The muse lasted for about a second. In the middle of testing results coming back for my students, packing, moving, preparing for Africa, and setting time aside for my time with the Lord and my husband, once again I placed my  book on the back burner.

I thought about it, sure. I started writing a post on Friday about rereading some of the manuscript last week and getting excited again about finishing the story. But, things happen. Read: allergy induced coma because of medicine. I’ve realized – once again – creativity is not something we can pull out of the air. Creativity – and words – will not wait for us. I’m realizing again that it takes planned time and a room of my own (thanks, Virginia) in order for me to write and write well.

So here we are on day 8 of my personal challenge to finish my book. I haven’t written a single word. But, I do have the printed copy of my manuscript waiting for me on my desk. Today, I plan on getting reacquainted with my characters. I plan on reading with an objective eye and tackling the frozen plot in between the lines. And even though we’re moving this week, even though the school year is almost over which means much grading, my hope is to edit what I have and add 5000 words a week from today.

Hopefully, creativity will work in my favor. Most likely she won’t. I can relearn the fine skill of setting time for creative thinking, though – and that’s what I plan to do.

What goals are you working towards?

Posted in: Creativity, Writing