“I want to take my family out of this slum…” (via THE SOJOURNINGS)

Posted on July 8, 2010

4


My friend Whitney is still in Kibera. Recently, she gave a class on storytelling to the students of New Hope. She then had the students write their story.

A couple days ago I told you about Christine – one of the girls who completely stole my heart while in Kibera. This is her story, in her own words.

"I want to take my family out of this slum..." My names are Christine Achieng. I am 14 years old. I have lived in Kibera for three years. I have been living with my sister. I come from Nyanza province at a place called Siaya. I lived with my elder sister, and I also have three brothers. I used to have one father and one mother. My elder sister feeds us, and buys for us anything we need. The big problem that we face as a family is lack of money. My sister’s work is so little so sometimes we ea … Read More

via THE SOJOURNINGS

Posted in: Uncategorized